Happy New Year!

Welcome to 2017 everyone! I’ve been MIA over Christmas as there isn’t much time for blog writing when you’re baking Christmas biscuits until 1am three nights in a row! But I’m excited to pick things up and thought I’d share my thoughts on 2016 and my plans for 2017.

I’d like to say a massive thank you to everyone who has visited the blog in 2016. Over 300 of you visited from 23 countries and viewed the blog 900 times! Wow, I was blown away when I read those statistics. Thank you for your support. I will try to make 2017’s content as exciting, relevant and interesting as possible. I am also aiming to commit to one blog a week. With my plans for writing, I think this goal is manageable and fun!

Looking back at 2016, from a writing perspective, I don’t think I have been particularly productive over the last year. This is a hard truth to stomach, as no one likes to face facts when they haven’t been performing or achieving as much as they would like. My second novel, Wendy’s House, is barely explored and definitely not written. I only submitted Latest Mistake to 2 agents. I wrote 30 blogs last year, averaging at around 2-3 per month only. Now I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions particularly, but New Year’s is a prime opportunity to take stock and ask yourself how you want to live your life. So as writing goals go, in 2017 I want to:

  • Undertake the Penguin Random House course in April.
  • Finish Wendy’s House.
  • Submit Latest Mistake to 20 agents or more.
  • Research self-publishing and make a decision.
  • Consistently write blog posts and consider expanding the blog.
  • Try to secure writing gigs outside of my own creation i.e. guest write on another blog or secure some freelance work.

When they’re lined up neatly in bullet points, with a 12 month deadline, they’re not so daunting. But now is not the time to be complacent, the year will go by all too quickly, like 2016 did! So, the name of the game now is about planning and taking everything one step at a time. For example, my first two proactive steps of 2017 have been to order a copy of the 2017 Writers and Artists Yearbook and to create a blog schedule for the year, so I can plan and add content in ahead of time. On top of this, I’ve received a newsletter from Scene TV who are looking for contributors. I’m not sure what will come of it but it’s worth an email, right?

All in all I’m excited about what this year will bring. The idea is to stay focussed, positive and in charge of my future. It’s so easy to feel disempowered or hopeless when you have a dream (and a day job!) but I’m hoping being proactive will help me keep those feelings at bay and will lead to a successful year. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

