Got to love holiday reads!

So, you may not hear from me for a couple of weeks, as I have some trips coming up and will be away, so I thought I’d let you know what books I’m taking with me and at the same time, have a look back at some of my favourite holiday reads of all time!

 

IMG_20160615_171535
I’m currently reading The Great Gatsby, but I’m also packing The Prisoner of Azkaban just in case!

Books have always been a big part of my life, especially when going on holiday as that, plus my portable CD player, were absolute packing essentials when I was younger. To be fair, not much has changed- only now my CD player has been replaced with an iPod!

Here’s a look back at some of my favourite holiday reads from over the years!

Boy by Roald Dahl
Now, if I remember this correctly, I read this over the summer between primary school and secondary school. It was fascinating reading stories about an author I was a huge fan of.  Even today, I still remember the sections about chocolate and the canings he suffered in his boarding school.

Salem’s Lot by Stephen King
I started reading King in my early teens and I distinctly remember reading this one on a caravan holiday with my family. I recall only allowing myself to read up to a certain point each night before then switching to listening to music, as I didn’t want to have nightmares!

Dawson’s Creek Omnibus
I assume I’m not the only one who remembers the amazing TV show that was Dawson’s Creek? Well, did you know they also wrote books with the characters to capitalise on the success of the show? If not, where were you in the 90s?! I remember one summer in my teens reading an entire omnibus of three of the stories, only fuelling my obsession!

The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold/A Royal Duty by Paul Burrell
I’m grouping these two together as I read these back to back on holiday in Tunisia when I was a teenager. I was drawn to The Lovely Bones after using the material in a drama class at school. It was a deeply moving book and I finished it quickly. Having not brought a back-up book with me (rookie mistake!) I instead read the book my mum had brought along to read, A Royal Duty.

Ralph’s Party by Lisa Jewell
This novel is dear to me as it is the one which made me dream about being a writer full time (hopefully I’ll get there soon!). One summer in secondary school, a colleague of my mother (who had heard I was an avid reader) donated to me a hoard of books she was giving away. Unfortunately, many were not quite my thing, but this one stood out and was enthralling from start to finish; I loved every minute of reading it.

There are so many more I could write about (reading Breaking Dawn on holiday skiing in France comes to mind) but I won’t get round to packing my bags if I don’t get going!

Do you remember any particularly amazing holiday reads? Comment below and let me know.

3 thoughts on “Got to love holiday reads!

Leave a Reply

